No Fear

Is that what you think about when you think “fearless”? (I know the ? outside the quotes is debated, but I fall on the side of having it outside the quotes. Someone can comment on what Turabian says if you feel led).

This was not my idea of “fearless” until this morning. I was explaining to my daughter why a dragonfly, similar to the one in this picture, felt comfortable perching himself on my laptop while I studied. He knows that the closer he gets to me, the safer he is from the birds flying around us, or other predators. As long as he can trust me he feels safe, secure, fearless.

I was reading Psalm 119:1, first in Hebrew, then in English to my daughter (teaching them English is hard enough, let alone Hebrew. But we try!). Roughly translated, it reads, “Blessed/Happy is the one whose walk is blameless, who walks in the law of Adonai.” Lord here is technically not “Adonai;” it is the covenant name, but we say “Adonai” out of respect for His Name. This verse teaches us that if someone obeys God’s law, which is His Scripture, that person is blessed. The dragonfly principle again. Walking closely with God leads to blessing. The closer we are to Him, the more blessed we are. How do you get closer to God? Learn His way and obey it. This includes, for example, doing the difficult things He commands, even when we don’t understand it. Even when it is not popular. Even when you are the only one doing it.

It’s like working out. Some days I hate getting up early and working out. My mind has not caught up to my body. But I must do what I hate, in order to do what I love. Pay now, play later; or play now, pay later. If I have no discipline, I will become fat (fatter) and lazy. This is true of time spent with God. Neglecting Him and His Word will affect my entire life negatively, my reactions to people and stressful events, and my sense of safety or fear. Yet, honestly, I, like you, go days sometimes in spiritual famine, even doing the things of God, but not getting near to God. Then we wonder why we feel afraid. We wonder why we are anxious, stressed, worried, and why life as a Christian has no meaning.

Believe it or not, the dragonfly principle is real. You can see it in fish too. As I am at a lake as I write this, daily my kids swim with the fish, not the Godfather way, either. Panfish come up and swarm you if you stand or sit still long enough in the clear water. Why? They won’t eat your food if you try to feed them, and you can’t catch them with a net (so I’ve heard). They, like the dragonfly, know that the closer they are to you, the safer they are from the bigger fish.

So what will you do? Take the easy route and don’t bother getting close to God? A predator may never attack you, but the slow advancement of fear might come over you. If you want to be bold and fearless, take the time to meet with the most bold, the most fearless, the Almighty God. Hebrews 12:2 tells us, “Fixing our eyes on Jesus, the Author and Perfector of faith, who, for the joy set before Him, endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

That’s the kind of big God I want to get closer to. If He can do all of that, and is sitting next to God, and is, as He claimed, God Himself, I want to learn from that man. I want to learn how to overcome fear from Him, being a good husband, father, son, brother, son-in-law, brother-in-law, friend, pastor, leader, and man.

So land dragonfly. Stop the flutter of your wings, gently set down next to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. Don’t think about your problems when you’re there. Fix your eyes and mind on Jesus Christ, and soon you, like the dragonfly, will feel safe and have no fear.

5 thoughts on “No Fear

  1. Deb Johnson July 12, 2011 / 3:11 pm

    hmm, i do believe in the dragonfly concept, i have expericenced this with dragonflys, i wish not to take the easy way out, but then i also beleive in myself that i want to take the easy way but also I need to be closer to God,also but then again I think people can go through rough times, and if you have enough of them, time and time again, you can expericence spirtual let downs, myself i like to retreat into His wilderness somewheres so i can connect with God and myself., then we come back to the dragonfly they will eventually fly away, because they do not feel safe for a period of time, the fish thing i never have tried, but they like to stay in groups, which makes them safe, and if you try to net them, they will scatter, but if you wait they will regroup back into one, sorry about the jedi thing, im not getting that except for the fact that sometimes I dont relate to things such as the jedi thing, simply because i think not a fan of it, my problem, peace deb

  2. Deb Johnson July 12, 2011 / 3:22 pm

    one other thing, about fear, it can keep us from things, i remember all the shirt logos ect, No Fear, but on the other hand I do fear God, at any given time He can do as He wants, should we fear, probaly not if its done by God, but if someone is not a child of God, they have alot to fear, sometimes i think when i meet Him, will I have things to fear as i kneel before Him, even though i have asked forgivness, repented, time and time again, I believe when I am in His presence, giving an account for my life, might have some fear peace

  3. natewhiteside July 13, 2011 / 8:13 pm

    testing

    • Deb Johnson July 14, 2011 / 11:56 am

      not the smartest person here, but, testing, explain please, do u mean God is testing me, or am i way off base???

  4. natewhiteside July 14, 2011 / 4:18 am

    (from “about”)
    Jack says:
    July 13, 2011 at 2:31 pm
    Enjoyed reading your blog. Excellent writing: Easy to read, understand, and relate to; plus, I’m in total ageement with the content, it’s meaning, and it’s truth.

    Keep writing and inspiring us to stay on the Godly path!

    Your friend,
    Jack

Leave a Reply

